Born to struggle???

 “I” bumped into my head this morning ~ twice!  Once on a low hanging entrance, the next time while getting into a truck.  This was shortly after a brief snow shoveling adventure, [ NOT ] my favorite activity in life…  

This event was before a friend confided to me that her mother in law had been just diagnosed with inoperable cancer.  She was distressed; I hugged and tried to console her… 

Later in the Whistler Blackcomb day lot, a snow boarding dude was just a little pissed because his car had got stuck in a small pot hole.  Now, I’m not so butch by any means, but the princess inside me decided to find her inner male and we eventually freed the “dude” from his tribulation ~ Yeah!   This was after he had ranted about the difficulties of living in the resort town that we are… 

People suffer.  “I” suffer.  Recently the feeling of struggle/suffering has been percolating to the surface of my awareness ~ again.  I’ve done enough work on “myself” to realize this particular trance when it arises, and have varying degrees of ability to navigate it’s currants or submerge myself in it’s all too familiar whirlpools.   

At a meeting once we did an introductory question:   “If you had one supper power what would it be?”   “I” thought it was a great question.  My super power would be the ability to take away, with the snap of my fingers “someone’s suffering”. 

A friend once confided to me that she opened a very famous book that began with the sentence… “life is a struggle”, and ended up slamming it shut, never to read it or the contents contained, just because of the opening sentence…

  

We suffer, humanity suffers.  The “I” suffers.  As long as we continue to identify with the “I” and all its thoughts, feelings, emotions, perceptions and associations we will struggle and suffer in life.  While the desire to eliminate the suffering and struggle in life might be based on some noble virtue, most of humanity is simply not interested in discovering the source of suffering that exists in the world today.   It’s simply too easy to find so many things “wrong’ on the outside, to begin to scratch the surface of what’s really going on “inside.”  Collin Sisson once said “you are completely in charge of your life to the degree you are aware of your own inner perfection…”  What a profoundly simple statement. 

Wisdom traditions teach us that there can never be an external change without first having an internal change.  The purest of these teachings suggest that it is “I”dentification, that causes our problems.  We live our lives with our attention focused and distracted to the foreground of the mirage self or “I”, while missing the background of our true self that existed all along.   In our “forget”   “full”   “ness”,  and depending on the degree of “I”dentification, we get stuck in the little or big potholes that life has a tendency to present to us.   “I” do not believe that life is a struggle.  “I” believe that we believe that life is a struggle because most of us never get to experience the perfection that exists before, during and after the struggling and suffering arises and subsides. 

Most of us never get to have an alternative experience contrary to the struggling and suffering and as a result continue to do life in the same old ways that the majority of the planet subscribes too.  “I” need to be clear that there is no judgment on this particular and most popular method of doing life; I’m just encouraging and challenging the status quo that assumes it’s the only way to do life… 

After the heroics of my parking lot experience “I” went to see a movie, [ ONE ] of my favorite activities in life…  I was pleasantly surprised as the mgr. cashier “comped” me with a free ticket to the movie.  The nice thing about struggle and suffering is that it is not permanent; there is always the opposite swing of the pendulum…  

“Like two golden birds perched on the selfsame tree, intimate friends, the ego [ “I” ] and the Self dwell in the same body.  The former eats the sweet and sour fruits of the tree of life, while the latter looks on in detachment.”

The Mundaka Upanishad

What’s your supper power?

One Response

  1. The ability to heal would be pretty practical and extremely rewarding although I suppose there would be an inherent pressure to always heal…hmm, I may have to think some more.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

