The naked, direct experience of “I” mind…

“I’m uncertain and afraid.

“I” sometimes feel lonely. 

“I’m wise and talented.  

“I’m single.

“I’m white.

“I’m a male.

“I’m gay. 

“I’m older, “I’m passionate.

“I” meditate.

“I’m a snowboarder.

“I’m a reader, writer, artist and teacher. 

“I’m a student.

“I’m Canadian.

“I’m a “local”. 

“I’m quiet, sometimes feel angry, and once in great while, sad. 

“I” can be intense, purposeful and driven. 

“I’m playful, introspective and sometimes insecure. 

“I’m a seeker, knower and dreamer. 

“I’m concerned. 

“I’m clear, knowledgeable and innovative. 

“I’m disciplined, sometimes noisy and messy.

“I’m trustworthy and intelligent. 

“I’m searching, finding, forgetting and remembering. 

“I’m healthy, immature and mature. 

“I’m a loner.

“I’m a visionary. 

“I’m an unrequited lover. 

“I” can be argumentative, sometimes dismissive and very efficient.

“I’m compassionate, judgmental and occasionally distant.

“I’m committed, “I’m curious.

“I’m a brother, a son, a friend.

“I” care too much about what people think of me.

“I” drive a Jeep.

“I’m the most creative person “I” know.

“I’m a 21st century Yogi.

“I” love life.  

“I” want to be inspired.  

“I” want to inspire. 

   

*** 

None of these things have anything to do with

Who “I AM”.  

Who I AM

is more than my thoughts, my feelings, my emotions, my perceptions, my associations, my memories and my preferences.

Who I AM

is more than my body and the psychology of the “I” mind. 

If “I” do not use, identify or depend on my thoughts, feelings, emotions, perceptions, associations, memories, preferences or body, then

Who AM I?

If “I” do not use, identify or depend on my thoughts, feelings, emotions, perceptions, associations, memories, preferences or body, then what reason do “I” need to define myself?  

    

Who I AM

is infinite, unbounded, and immortal.

Who I AM

is beyond definition, detail or description. 

As soon as “I” define myself, “I” lose myself in the details. 

The details are happening to “me”, or not.   

“I” am more than a detail, a description, an experience or a story. 

The experience and story is happening to “me”, or not. 

I AM  not the story that is spoken or unspoken. 

The story ~ all stories, are contained within “me”.

I AM 

the knower, the knowing and the known…    

One Response

  1. I love this!

    Are you into non-duality?

    I recently read “Awakening to the Dream”. Such a great book!

    http://growlbert.wordpress.com/2008/03/24/do-i-even-exist/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

