Ode to Ganesha…

Ganesha (also known as Ganapati/Vinayaka) is one of the most famous deities within the Hindu tradition/religion. Appearing as a man with an elephants head as his image.  He has many attributes and the reverence his followers have for his specific divine interventions: lord of beginnings (success), lord of obstacles (removing and placing), Deva of the intellect and wisdom have boosted his popularity to iconic levels. 

Within Yoga theory there is a suggestion that with practice, one can specifically activate certain energies through the use of our attention.  Using meditation, mantras, icons and images, it is believed that one can harness the very qualities and characteristics of the many expressions of the One divine being…

There was a period in my life when I was actively exploring various archetypal energies with the desire to enhance their particular attributes within “my” own consciousness.  My seeming pre-disposition towards and partial mastery of suffering clearly qualified me as a candidate for the charms and intervention of Ganesha. 

Ganesha had also been one of a select few deities, archetypes and energies that had grabed my attention consistently over the years in the pages and pictures of various readings “I” had stumbled on and pursued.   While success is very appealing having the ability to “remove” obstacles was clearly my ace of spades, so “I” dutifully meditated, chanted and payed homage to my new friend and teacher.  Over periods of weeks and months I began to spontaneously examine and contemplate my own experience of the word “obstacle”; how “I” defined it and how “I” experienced it.  I began to look at the perceived obstacles “I” had and their impact in my life and over my present lifetime.  The imagined list was very detailed, an endless, infinite list of ramblings ~ self engendered thoughts, feelings, emotions, perceptions, associations and memories of a neurotic mind.

 At one point “I” kept coming back to the same idea, the realization that the biggest and most important obstacle “I” really had faced in my life was in fact me!  The me that “I” saw when “I” looked in the mirror, the me that “I” saw when things were “bad”, the me that “I” felt when “I” was triggered by some external circumstance, situation, person or thing.  It also occurred to me that there were also many occasions where “I” experienced flow, where “I” experienced great joy, inspiration, creativity and Bliss in my life .  As “I” became more attentive to those moments, as “I” contemplated the significance of this insight “I” started to realize that in my most creative moments of Being there was a nonappearance of “I”, an abstention of the cognitive process were my now was filled with moments of no thinking, there was no inner consideration of what “I” needed to do in the moment, there was no “I” moderating the moment.

Showing up while also having the ability to step aside in the moment for most seems to be a spontaneous, rare, somewhat fleeting occurrence.  It’s very easy for the mind to slice and dice our experience.  Losing our Self in the resulting confusion is only further aggravated by our identification to the judgment we place on every consecutive moment of now. 

The art of learning to show up while also stepping aside to allow the moment to unfold with fineness and timing appears for most to be a lifetime journey of insight and practice, but it is the greater commitment of renunciation ~ not of habits, objects or things, but of the self that we imagine ourselves to be.  It is the “I”, the “me” and the “mine” that begs to be relinquished, discarded and abandoned.   As the concept “I’ is banished from our Consciousness through practiced wisdom and inquiry, the perception of diversity loses its edge and “we” have the potential to elevate our experience and our ability to express the art of Being in the world.

 

On a final note to fellow bloggers, Ganesha is also considered to be the “patron of letters”.  It is considered to be very auspicious when he name is invoked during writing sessions…

 O M   G U M   G A N A P A T A Y E I   N A M A H A !

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

