13 Steps to Synchronicity… I = #9

 

I   Follow the inspiration of your intent and desire…

 

Most of us do not trust ourselves or our motivations in life.  We have been conditioned to judge, fear and dichotomize the intentions, dreams and desires we have for ourselves and the world we live in.  What makes us so distrust our desires, the true language of our Soul?  What makes you believe your will is any different than the will of the Universe?  The core of every desire contains the seed of happiness, innocence and a need for the experience and expression of Who You Are ~ love in action.

 

When we lose touch with our desires we lose touch with inspiration, our hopes, dreams and desires are replaced by desperation and mediocrity.  When we lose touch with an inner trust to our true Self and life, all we have to navigate our experience is judgment.  When we lose touch with the essence of Who We Are; love, we are reduced to living our life according to our fears only.

 

As we sink into the Self, we begin to listen too, embrace and rest in the quiet solitude of the Self.  We once again start to bump into the innocence of the intentions and desires that naturally and spontaneously arise from the very same Self.  Inspired by the authenticity of our intentions and desires, we find a renewed zest and affection for life from which to navigate the ebb and flow of our life experience.  We use the wisdom of our own understanding; dropping the pain and suffering of our past to become the luminosity of Who We Are in the present.  We live life once again, from a place of inspiration.

Q.    What can you do to re-inspire your Self and your life?

 

Q.     What are the intentions and desires you have for your life? 

 

 

 

3 Responses

  1. Great thoughts. The unfortunate side of “self” is the inability for many people to dismantle their constant doubt. Affirmations are tools that help people rid themselves of the self defeating doubt that lurks within

    Author Susan Hanshaw’s upcoming book “Inner Architect: How To Build The Life You Were Designed To Live” gives an excellent example of the power of affirmations

    Here is a brief summation on our blog:
    http://innerarchitect.wordpress.com/2008/04/23/affirm-your-new-reality-affirmations-5-tools-to-dismantle-your-doubt/

    Thank you and be well!

    dean and susan

  2. Thank you for taking the time to comment. It brings up some very important ideas/concepts that I respectfully, feel the need to clarify. It’s also a great opportunity for me to unplug myself and where I am at in my process and the “work” and ideas I am exploring and letting go of…

    your blog comment…

    “ The unfortunate side of “self” is the inability for many people to dismantle their constant doubt. Affirmations are tools that help people rid themselves of the self defeating doubt that lurks within…”

    I think it is important to qualify which self we are speaking of. I often use a small “s” to identify the “I”: our personality or psychology, what most, especially in the west call the ego. The “I” is the story (good or bad) that we have about ourselves. It is our memories, our history, our associations, our ideas, the concepts we have about ourself and the world. It’s our thoughts, feelings, beliefs, discriminations, and emotions. It’s the personal “I”, the “I” of the body/mind, it’s something we see when we look in the mirror, and it’s what we think about in the mirror (good or bad). It’s the “I” we imagine in our minds; it’s the “I” that in reality does not exist…

    I make mention and use the word “I” in most of my recent writings while also avoiding the use of the word “ego”. The majority of people think/use the word “ego” in a very dichotomized, misunderstood, way. We place significance on the word ego especially when used in a negative context, i.e. “someone who is full of themselves”, “a wanna be”, “a pre-madonna”, someone who has achieved and now has “a big ego”.

    The other side of this coin is of course the person who has somehow has “no ego” or who has qualities that are considered loving, acceptable, nice, non-confrontational etc. where we sometimes say “they are ego less”. We then spiritualize the good definition of ego and demonize the “bad” definition of ego, when in actuality they are both egoic expressions of our personality or psychology; they are all part of the same spectrum or ego.

    The true understanding of the word ego is “all inclusive”, both the “good” and the “bad”. It is the ego that is “the tyrant” and it is the ego that is the “unconditional loving person”. Both the movie star AND the saintly priest have an ego or psychology. The kinds of thoughts you are having and the behaviors you pull do not determine whether you have an ego or not.

    Most conventional Spirituality and psychology believes in the existence of an “I” or ego and uses strategies to change, fix, improve or transform the “I” or ego. The “I” or ego wants to make itself better… the “I” or ego wants to be more happy, prosperous, creative, loving, giving, on purpose ~ the “I” or ego wants to be more spiritual, complete, whole, healthy, successful. The “I” or ego wants to be healed and it wants to love and be loved. The “I” or ego also comes up with strategies to elevate and enhance this process: in the new age we call it spirituality; in psychology it is called therapy.

    Please do not get me wrong here. I have spent most of my life and thousands of dollars exploring psycho/spiritual strategies to improve the quality of my life or my ego “I”. Many of them have provided more comfort and “success” in expressing the “me” or the “I” ego that I appear to be. As a student, practitioner/facilitator I used affirmations early on in my journey and also, early on, suggested them as a tool towards self improvement. I also teach stratagies for improving the quality of life…

    I now realize that (however successful) the entire process of “self” improvement, and any modality that falls under this umbrella, including most “spiritual” practices were and are actually designed to fix, change and provide a better “I” or ego.

    You commented:

    The unfortunate side of “self” is the inability for many people to dismantle their constant doubt. Affirmations are tools that help people rid themselves of the self defeating doubt that lurks within…

    The “Self” I speak about is not the small “self”. The small “self” is the “I” or ego. As long as we identify with our small self as our true “self” or “I” there will be doubt. We will suffer. While affirmations may have some effect on the small “self” or “I” they do not touch your true, real “Self”. Trying to persuade the small self or “I’ that you are this or that, while providing some comfort in life, will never allow you to discover Who You Are.

    Who You Are is beyond the small self. Your true Self is already perfect, whole and complete, in this now.

    Why would you want to change, fix, improve a false small self?

    Why would you want to try and “heal” the small self when in fact you are the true Self?

    Again, do not get me wrong here. I’ve done my affirmations, I’ve spent lots of time “healing” old wounds, but those negative thoughts and those old wounds belong to the “I” or small self, and have nothing to do with Who I AM.

    The “I” will always have a negative thought at some point. As long as we continue to identify with the small self, there will always be some part of the “I” and its story that story that needs to be “healed”. But you and “I” are not the small self, we are not the “I”. We are the “one” Self. When spirituality fails, when psychology fails, we have brushed up against the inherent issue and fact that the ego or “I” in reality, does not exist, (or, better said, it exists only at the level of the imagined mind).

    If the personality we imagine ourselves to be, is actually a false, an imagined composite self, with a history and story, memories and beliefs, associations and thoughts, feelings and perceptions that occur only at the level of the “I” mind and we are not the “I” mind then not only does the small self not exist, but there is nothing that needs to be healed.

    If we really want to build the life we were designed to live, we need to find out Who We Are, which is beyond the small self, “I” or “ego” that we imagine our self to be.

    Within the Self,
    there is nothing to dismantle,

    Within Self,
    there is nothing to doubt,

    Within the Self,
    there is nothing to defeat,

    nothing to fear,

    nothing to fix,

    and

    nothing to change.

    “ Try to give up the tendency to improve yourself… ”

    Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj

    Respectfully

    m

  3. “m”,

    Yet these concepts “doubt”, “fix”, “change”, “fear”, and “dismantle” remain reality for those of us unable to understand your teachings (above).

    I am humbled and aware of what you teach, yet I must not be evolving or vibrating at a level that allows my ego to “ride in the back seat” of my life while my enlightened self no matter size drives my life.

    Wonderful!

    dean

Leave a Reply

