Insight #44 ~ ZEN Shredding…

 

wb-320

 

Witness the flow of your life. 

 

 

The current of your life can change in a moment, an hour or in a day.  It’s important to recognize that at any moment you might need to slow down, be attentive, speed up or simply stop because that is the call of the moment. While this may or may not coincide with your own plans, learning to surrender to the flow of your life will minimize the degree of struggle you may or may not be having.

 

Extended commentary:

 

As I write these extended blog entries based on my book ZEN Shredding, I am constantly “floored” as to how many of the insights have recently struck a cord of meaning and relevance to my present moment experience.  It’s almost like another version has unfolded inside of me and could hit the press with regards to the perceptions I am having with those insights in the present moment now. 

 

For the last 20 years of my life I have been actively exploring and immersing myself in the world of so called spirituality and personal growth.  I have had some amazing experiences, made some amazing friendships, and discovered many illusions while grounding myself in some of the world’s greatest, timeless teachings.  “I” also have imagined that as a result of this tenure, on some level, that “I” had “done” enough of my homework to be able to step into the enlightened side of simply Being.

 

 This last year 2008/2009 has been an “interesting” time; it peaked in the spring/summer of 2008 with the publication and promotion of a three year book project ~ ZEN Shredding, in the fall it dived.  I received news that I would not only be losing my accommodation [free rent living in a cabin in the woods] but also, that my day job was coming to an end.  Whistler, Canada is NOT the ideal kind of place to be looking for work or accommodation, in the late fall.  As a resort destination, the population of seasonal workers increases dramatically, as the population of incoming employees increases the available accommodation decreases with regards to accessibility. 

 

For “me”, it was a recipe for disaster.  I could not find work and I could not find a place to live.  As a way to ease the situation I decided to move into an alternative substitute ~ “Harvey” the RV.  I have now just finished the glory of “living the dream” of my first winter living in an rv.  While there were some enjoyable moments, overall, a large part of “me” feels like I’ve dived into the deep end of an Olympic size pool and is almost, treading water…

 

In the contemporary world of new age spirituality there is a great expectation and fever for ever expanding levels of success and happiness in all areas of our life.  There’s nothing inherently wrong with this intent as long as we do not become attached to the idea of living in an UP universe; the idea that there is some mystical magical moment when our life will permanently tread a Bullish style market. 

 

My experience over the last six months has reminded me once again how delicate life is; how easy it is to slip from the experience of being a bliss bunny one moment who appears to be on track and dialed into life; into the suffering created by shadows of fear and grief over the loss of meaning and purpose, a perceived friendship, and the circumstances that exist in ones life.  While my currant situation has improved from an external point of view, my internal world has fallen into chaos and shock.  I have stepped into the shadow of a mind of ideas and a heart filled with emotions that touch the deepest fears, judgments and conditionings of the person I imagine myself to be.

 

No human being, however “enlightened”, is immune to the comings and goings of life; the ups and downs, the highs and lows, the ins and outs that occur in the story of our day to day existence and our identification to a body/mind.  Realization of any degree has no guarantee’s; life continues to unfold in its juxtaposition of opposites: pain and suffering, joy and bliss; the ups and downs of change appear to be the only constant as the “I” dances in the world of form and phenomena.

 

As we begin to identify ourselves too the timeless factor that is our real and only Self ~ the ONE who is the witness; an experience of resilience begins to spontaneously appear, independent too the ebb and flow of our life.  As we begin to identify ourselves AS the timeless factor in a time bound experience, we begin to realize that this Self, our true Self, can rejoice in itSelf always, regardless of what may appear or disappear in the moment to moment story we call life.

 

The discovery of Who We Are, is a “personal journey” of an imagined “I”, that believes it is a separate, individual and distinct entity, with a past, present and future story based on personal volition.  The spontaneous, unconditional, acceptance of the juxtaposition of opposites within our life occurs as a result of our stabilization to our Self, and provides the space for a subjective experience of freedom to express that requires no external change for corroboration or affirmation. 

 

You are Who You Are, independent of the circumstances and situations that occur within your life experience.  As we learn to witness not only our life, but also the ONE who witnesses our life, we become aware of a level of freedom that was always available; the timeless and eternal factor that we label “YOU”, has only temporarily imagined itself as space and time bound, “me”.

 

* Much, much more than a footnote;

 

I have just received news that one of my closest friends and mentors, Louise; has been diagnosed with some kind of cancer.  Treatments begin this week.  I want to dedicate this entry to you Louise.  You are my role model; “teacher” and Angel in life.  You are someone who has shown me what is possible, that there is such a thing as unconditional love… 

 

I need to slow down and stop, now.

 

This was never part of “the plan”…    

     

 

Where is the flow of your life taking

you ~ do you need to slow down, be attentive, gear up or stop?

 

To order a copy of ZEN Shredding please visit:

 

http://www.trafford.com/Bookstore/BookDetail.aspx?BookId=SKU-000161942

 

OR

 

Check out “Living The Dream”, the gift book version of the slideshow/movie that is available to view free on You tube or the ZEN Shredding website; an inspiring read with full color photo’s of Whistler/Blackcomb Alpine…

 

http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/322380

 

 

AND

 

 

When you get a chance, please visit the home of my latest work:

 

 

Soulananda;

The Essentials of a Good Life…

 

http://www.soulananda.com

 

(c) Copyright – Michael Sean Symonds. All Rights Reserved Worldwide.

 

 

 

 

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

